Erik-André Sauleau

Jump to: navigation, search

University Professor - Hospital Practitioner

  • Head of MiBISA research group
ICube - MIV
300 Bd Sébastien Brant
BP 10413
67412 Illkirch CEDEX - France

Tel : + 33 (0) 3 68 85 39 51
Fax : + 33 (0)
Bureau : ???

Courriel : ea(dot)sauleau(at)unistra(dot)fr
Page personelle : http://

Profil.png

The Laboratory of Biostatistic and Medical Informatics (LBIM)

The LBM is a ward in the Faculty of Medicine. It provides teaching and research missions in analyses of health data. The lectures are primarily intended for medical students, students of paramedical schools and more generaly students enrolled in courses in which these analyzes are needed (masters in public health for example).

In research, most of LBIM's work is structured around Bayesian inference, methods for clinical research (new study patterns, specific statistical analyzes ...) and spatial analysis. The team was also interested until recently in the theory, software implementation and application of PLS ​​methods in medicine, particularly in the context of allelotyping.

Description of my research activities

My main research interests relate to the Bayesian inference in its epistemological, historical and methodological aspects. Implemented Bayesian models are then applied to different types of health data:

  • Clinical Research. In the Bayesian toolbox for planning and analysing clinical trials, calculation techniques for sample size and predictive probability allow to finely modulate the number of subjects to be recruited into a study.
  • Geographical and spatial models. The spatial location or even spaciotemporal in health data is becoming more and more common. It's the same with questions about possible links between exposure to given risk factors and occurrence of health events. Almost all of the spatial models can be integrated into the general framework of generalized additive models with a spatial component, a particular case of "Structured Additive Regressions" or StAR models.

Some of these activities are structured in a research group on the causality in epidemiology. The overall objective of this group is enhance knowledge on the philosophical and epidemiological/biostatistics foundations of causation and causal modeling, with special anchoring on the history of these approaches and their historiography. We aim to strengthend an international scientific network, eminently multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary: INCEPTION (for Interdisciplinary Network on Causality in EPidemiological investigaTIONs). This network begins to evolve around a geographical axis of three places and teams in Strasbourg, Cambridge (UK) and Cagliari (I).

Teaching

  • Responsible for the University Diploma (Diplôme d'Université, DU): Biostatistics "From frequentist to Bayesian statistics"
  • Responsible for Informatics Certificate (C2i), Level 1 (Faculty of Medicine)
  • Tutorial classes (travaux dirigés) in statistics in the first common year for health studies (PACES)
  • About 20 hours in introductory lectures in biostatistics and critical reading of scientific papers (paramedics)
  • Lectures in Bayésian inference (Master in public health)


Publications

Erik-André Sauleau

Aller à : navigation, rechercher

Professeur des Universités - Praticien hospitalier

ICube - MIV
300 Bd Sébastien Brant
BP 10413
67412 Illkirch CEDEX - France

Tel : + 33 (0) 3 68 85 39 51
Fax : + 33 (0)
Bureau : ???

Courriel : ea(dot)sauleau(at)unistra(dot)fr
Page personelle : http://

Profil.png

Le Laboratoire de Biostatistique et Informatique Médicale (LBIM)

Le LBIM est un service de la Faculté de Médecine. Il assure des missions d’enseignement et de recherche dans le domaine de l’analyse des données de santé. Ses enseignements sont destinés essentiellement aux étudiants en médecine, aux étudiants des écoles paramédicales et aux étudiants inscrits des cursus dans lesquels ces analyses sont nécessaires (masters de santé publique par exemple).

Dans le domaine de la recherche, l’essentiel des travaux du LBIM est structuré autour de l’utilisation de l’inférence bayésienne, autour des méthodes propres à la recherche clinique (nouveaux schémas d’étude, analyses statistiques spécifiques, ...) et des analyses spatiales. L’équipe s’est également intéressé jusqu’à récemment à la théorie, l’implémentation logicielle et l’application des méthodes PLS en médecine, notamment dans le cadre de l’allélotypage.

Description de mes activités de recherche

Mes principaux thèmes de recherche ont trait à l'inférence bayésienne dans ses aspects épistémologiques, historiques et méthodologiques. Les modèles bayésiens développés sont appliqués sur différents types de données de santé :

  • Recherche clinique. Dans le panel d’outils bayésien disponibles pour la planification et l’analyse des essais thérapeutiques, les techniques de calculs de nombre de sujets nécessaires et de probabilités prédictives notamment permettent de moduler finement le nombre de sujets à recruter dans une étude.
  • Modèles géographiques et spatiaux. Le repérage spatial, voire même spatiotemporel, des données de santé est de plus en plus fréquent. Il en va de même des questions sur les liens pouvant exister entre l’exposition à certains facteurs de risque et la survenue d’événements de santé. La quasitotalité des modèles spatiaux peut être intégrée dans le cadre général des modèles additifs généralisés avec une composante spatiale, cas particulier des « Structured Additive Regressions » ou modèles StAR.

Une partie de ces activités se structurent au sein d'un groupe de recherche portant sur la causalité en épidémiologie. L'objectif général de ce groupe est de réfléchir aux fondements philosophiques et épidémiologiques/biostatistiques de la causalité et de la modélisation causale, avec un ancrage tout particulier sur l’historique de ces approches et leur historiographie. L’approche mobilisée est la constitution d’un réseau scientifique international, éminemment multi- et interdisciplinaire : INCEPTION (pour Interdisciplinary Network on Causality in EPidemiological investigaTIONs). Ce réseau commence à s’articuler autour d’un axe géographique réunissant trois lieux et une série d’équipes « fondatrices » à Strasbourg, Cambridge (UK) et Cagliari (I).

Enseignements

  • Responsable du Diplôme d’Université de Biostatistique " Des statistiques fréquentistes aux statistiques bayésiennes "
  • Co-responsable de l’UE : « Traitement Statistique des données en biologie » du master 2 Recherche : « Biomorphologie et biomatériaux »
  • Responsable du C2i niveau 1 (Faculté de Médecine)
  • TD de statistiques en PACES
  • Cours et TD de lecture critique d’articles (LCA) à la Faculté de Médecine
  • Une vingtaine d'heures de cours ou de TD introductifs à la biostatistique et à la lecture critique d'article (écoles paramédicales)
  • Cours dédiés à l'inférence bayésienne (master de Santé Publique du Grand Ouest)


Publications